GARRETT COLLEGE SPECIAL BOARD OF TRUSTEES MEETING

(Held via conference call)

May 4, 2017

McHenry, MD 21541

- I. ROLL CALL: Vice-Chair Morin called the meeting to order at 8:32 a.m. Other Board Members who joined the call or provided their proxy votes for this meeting included: Ms. Vianne Bell-Chair, Ms. Madeleine Collins, and Dr. Brenda McCartney. Board Members who were absent included: Mr. Jason Rush, Ms. Linda Sherbin and Mr. Duane Yoder. College Administrative Staff member present included: Dr. Richard Midcap, President.
- II. FACULTY EMERITUS HONOREES: Board Members were previously provided biographical information for the late Franklin David Slagle and Professor Oscar Randall Harman for consideration and to honor them with Faculty Emeritus Status at Garrett College. The request was brought forward and had unanimous support from Faculty Senate, and both of our academic administrators (Dr. Garrett and Dr. Yuan). On a motion by Trustee Collins, seconded by Vice-Chair Morin, the Board voted to approve awarding Faculty Emeritus status to the late Franklin David Slagle and Professor Oscar Randall Harman (Vote=4-0-0).

The family of Mr. Slagle and Mr. Harman will be given the option to either be recognized at the commencement ceremony to be held on May 20, 2017 or wait to be recognized during the 2018 ceremony.

- **III. SCHEDULE OF NEXT MEETING:** The next regularly scheduled meeting of the Garrett College Board of Trustees is scheduled for Tuesday, May 16, 2017 at Garrett College.
- **IV. ADJOURNMENT:** The meeting adjourned via acclamation at 8:36 a.m.

Respectfully submitted:

Richard Midcap, Ed.D.	Don Morin
President, Garrett College	Vice-Chair
Secretary/Treasurer, GC Board of Trustees	GC Board of Trustees