# GARRETT COLLEGE SPECIAL BOARD OF TRUSTEES MEETING MINUTES June 1, 2010 McHenry, MD 21541

#### I. ROLL CALL

The meeting was called to order by Ms. Linda Sherbin, Chair at 4:15 p.m. Other Board Members present included: Ms. Ruth Seib – Vice Chair, Ms. Vianne Bell, Dr. Lillian Mitchell, Mr. Jason Rush, and Mr. Duane Yoder. College Staff Members present included: Dr. Jeanne Neff, President and Ms. Josephine Gilman, Dean of Administration and Finance.

# II. MOTION TO RECESS THE SPECIAL OPEN SESSION MEETING FOR THE PURPOSE OF GOING INTO A SPECIAL CLOSED SESSION MEETING OF THE BOARD

The Board had a number of items to discuss in closed session. The titles of these items as well as the related exceptions under the Open Meetings Law are noted below. On a motion by Trustee Mitchell, seconded by Vice-Chair Seib, the Board recessed the Open session meeting at 4:16 p.m.

TOPICS TO BE DISCUSSED	REASON FOR CLOSING
Preliminary Budget Discussions	1
New Board Member Discussions	1

# **III. RECONVENE SPECIAL OPEN SESSION**

The Open Session Meeting reconvened at 5:47 p.m.

# IV. APROVAL OF THE AGENDA

On a motion by Trustee Bell, seconded by Trustee Yoder, the Board approved the agenda as distributed.

# **V. NEW BUSINESS**

# A. FY2011 Budget Presentation

Dr. Neff reported that the College Administration will add statements to the narrative portion of the budget explaining the links to the Strategic Plan. On a motion by Trustee Mitchell, seconded by Vice-Chair Seib, the Board approved the Garrett College Annual FY2010-2011 Budget as presented.

#### VI. SCHEDULE OF NEXT MEETING

The next regularly scheduled meeting of the Garrett College Board of Trustees is scheduled for Tuesday, June 15, 2010 at Garrett College.

# VII. ADJOURNMENT

On a motion by Vice-Chair Seib, seconded by Trustee Mitchell, the Special Meeting of the Garrett College Board of Trustees adjourned at 5:50 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by:

Jeanne H. Neff President, Garrett College Secretary/Treasurer, Board of Trustees Linda S. Sherbin Chair Garrett College Board of Trustees